Published On: Fri, Mar 29th, 2024
Top Stories | 4,695 views

Incredible map shows every country invaded by Britain – only 20 haven’t been | UK | News

An incredible map shows every country invaded by Britain throughout history, with only 20 not having been.

Britain invaded the territory of more than 170 countries over its history, which is equivalent to almost 90 percent of the world.

The empire began in the 1500s with trading posts in the Americas and Africa. But Britain’s first colony was Ireland, when they resettled the land with English and Welsh protestants.

By the 1800s, it had spread across Asia and Australasia. It was the largest empire in history and the main global power, referred to as Pax Britannica.

In 1912, the British Empire held sway over 412 million people, 23 percent of the global population at the time, and covered 14million square miles, 24 percent of the earth.

It caused Britain’s political, legal, linguistic and cultural identity to be forced across the globe into an “empire on which the sun never sets”.

The empire began its descent after the Second World War. Over the next century, colonies across the world declared their independence with Britain retaining sovereignty over 14 territories today.

Many former colonies are now members of the Commonwealth, a collection of 15 nations with King Charles as head of state.

Just 22 countries have not been invaded by Britain: Andora, Belarus, Bolivia, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Guatemala, Ivory Coast, and Kyrgyzstan.

Also included are Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mali, Marshall Islands, Monaco, Mongolia, Paraguay, Sao Tome and Principe, Sweden, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, and Vatican City.

The map does not only show Britain’s colonies, but all lands invaded by the country which include France, Afghanistan and Russia.

Source link